Exam

Name: Erik Surname: Marukyan Group: 1 –2 kurs 

 

Present Continuous or Present Simple 

  1. Put the verb in the correct form, present continuous or present simple. – 3 points (0.3 for each sentence) 

 

  1. Let’s go! It isn`training  (not / rain) now. 
  2. A liar is someone who doesn`t tells (not / tell) the truth. 
  3. An interpreter translates (translate) from one language into another. 
  4. Hurry up! Everybody is waiting (wait) for you. 
  5. Are youlisten (you / listen) to the radio? No, you can turn it off. 
  6. Do you listen(you / listen) to the radio every day? No, just occasionally. 
  7. The river Nile flows (flow) into the Mediterranean. 
  8. The train is never late. It always leaves (always / leave) on time. 
  9. An atheist doesn`t believe (not / believe) in God. 
  10. How is your English? Not bad.It improves (improve) slowly. 

 

  1.  Put in a/an or the. – 2 points (0.5 for each sentence) 

1.This morning I bought a newspaper and a magazine.A newspaper is in my bag and I don’t know where I put a magazine.  

  1. I saw an accident this morning.car crashed into a tree.A driver of a car wasn’t hurt but a car was badly damaged.  
  2. There are two cars parked outside:ablue one and a grey one.A blue one belongs to my neighbours; I don’t know who an owner of a grey one is. 
  3. My friends live in an old house in a small village. There is a beautiful garden behind a house. I would like to have a garden like that.   

 

  1. Put the verbs into the correct form, past continuous or past simple. – 3 points (0.3 points for each sentence) 
  1. Jane was waiting(wait) for me when I arrived (arrive). 
  2. What you was doing (you / do) this time yesterday? I was asleep. 
  3. You went (you / go) out last night? No, I was too tired. 
  4. She wasn’t hungry, soshe was eating (eat) anything. 
  5. It was a funny situation, but nobody laughs (laugh). 
  6. I was in a hurry, so I didn`t have (have) time to phone you. 
  7. When I was young, I wanted (want) to be a singer. 
  8. I was walking (walk) along the street when suddenly I heard (hear) footsteps behind me. Somebody was following (follow) me. I was frightened and I started (start) to run.  
  9. We went to Kate’s house but she wasn`t (be) at home.  
  10. It was hard work carrying the bags. They were (be) very heavy.  

 

  1. Complete the sentences. Use can’t or couldn’t + one of these verbs – 2 points (0.5 for each sentence) 

go, decide, find, go 

1.I wanted to speak to Martin yesterday but I couldn`t find him. 

  1. Ann doesn’t know what to do. She can`t decide
  2. Paula couldn`t go to the meeting last week. She was ill.  
  3. Jim can`t go to the concert next Saturday. He has to work.  

1 Extra point! 

A riddle: Who is bigger and Why: Mr. Bigger, Mrs. Bigger, or their baby?  the baby bigger because he is a little bigger. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *